Skip to main content
Scott's Blog of Doom!
  • Daily Updates
  • WWE
  • WWF
  • Daily Updates
  • WWE
  • WWF
  • AEW
  • WCW
  • Observer Flashbacks
Rants

WWE RAW Rundown 11-28-16

By Brian Bayless on November 29, 2016

November 28, 2016

From the Spectrum Center in Charlotte, NC

Your hosts are Corey Graves, Byron Saxton, and Michael Cole

We are shown a video package of last week’s Universal Championship match between Kevin Owens and Seth Rollins, where Chris Jericho interfered to help Owens retain despite the stipulations stating Jericho was banned from ringside.

The live show starts off with the “Highlight Reel” as Jericho is wearing the scarf he originally gave to Braun Strowman a few weeks back. Jericho welcomes his first guest and best friend, Kevin Owens. The crowd boos after Owens tells them they never made history before calls them out for celebrating Thanksgiving then going out and trampling all over each other for crappy flat screen TV’s on “Black Friday.” They both start putting themselves over as being better due to the fact they are Canadian. The crowd starts up a “USA” chant then Owens says he is thankful for being the Universal Champion, the face of RAW, and most important of all his best friend, Chris Jericho. After that, Jericho gives thanks for being friends with Owens, his scarf, and the fact that Seth Rollins is a stupid idiot. Jericho then said he was not wearing a Sin Cara mask as it was Sin Cara wearing a Chris Jericho match as they keep mentioning Sin Cara for a minute or so. After hearing that Rollins is not medically cleared to be here tonight, Roman Reigns comes out to interrupt. Reigns comes out and says he can see how Jericho & Owens are best friends because of their chemistry. Jericho gets angered over Reigns saying this is a joke then Reigns calls Owens a joke. Owens trips over his lines and stops himself as Jericho reminds us that English is Owens’ second language. Owens says its a joke that Reigns calls himself “the guy” as Reigns calls Owens “a guy.” Reigns calls out Owens for needing help all of the time and how he wants to see the “Fight Owens Fight” version of Owens. Jericho does his routine about putting Reigns on the list but Owens is so angered he yells at him to shut up then pauses before saying he has this and promises to powerbomb Reigns on the apron like he did to his former partner last week. Reigns then challenges Owens to a match tonight with the stipulation that if he wins he gets a match at Roadblock.Owens accepts then leaves by himself up the ramp.

They are going all in with a Reigns/Owens feud now. To be honest, their interaction here did not do much for me but the other story out of this was Owens yelling at then walking out on his best friend Chris Jericho. We will see if this is for real or another trick like what happened last week.

After the break, we see Owens and Jericho backstage. Owens tells Jericho that he does not need him as every time Jericho comes out people think he cannot win on his own. Mick Foley comes in to tell Owens he has his match tonight as Jericho tells Foley not to worry as he will not be at ringside with Owens ever again.

R-Truth w/ Goldust vs. Braun Strowman

Before the match they show a clip from last week where Strowman jumped Sami Zayn from behind to start their match then won after the match was called by Foley. R-Truth tries to catch Strowman off guard but gets knocked down. Strowman then shoves him in the corner before hitting a running powerslam for the win (0:47). After the match, Goldust tends to his partner as Strowman circles around then goes after him. Strowman chokes out Goldust in the corner but Zayn runs out for the save. Zayn lands a few shots but ultimately becomes overpowered by Strowman. A few officials run out to stop Strowman then Foley comes out to the ring as we head to commercial.

Thoughts: Another match designed to get Strowman over as a monster. They also showed once again that Zayn refuses to back down, no matter the circumstances.

Back from break, Zayn is arguing with Foley in the ring. Saxton is in the ring and asks Foley about stopping Strowman from attacking Zayn two weeks in a row. Foley says that some people need to be saved from themselves as Zayn says he does not need to be saved from Strowman, who is not a wrestler, competitor, or entertainer but rather a monster. Zayn calls Foley out for only taking orders from above. He then talks about looking up to Foley when he was younger but now sees someone who is just a hypocrite as Foley never backed down from anything in his career. Foley’s screaming was grating and I really do not care for his promos when he acts like this. Zayn showed good fire here and hopefully this means he ends up on Smackdown as they could really use him on the roster.

Backstage, Dana is interrupting Charlotte as she was listening to her headphones during her match preparation. Dana tells Charlotte about planning a homecoming celebration tonight as Charlotte says tonight she will end the rivalry between Sasha Banks and will be the only legend to ever make it out of this city.

Tony Nese w/ Drew Gulak vs. Cedric Alexander

Cole plugs the debut of “205 Live” tomorrow night after Smackdown on the WWE Network. The crowd is behind Alexander, who is from Charlotte. Alexander hits a satellite headscissors then a dropkick as the camera shows Alicia Fox watching from backstage as she apparently has a crush on Alexander. Gulak distracts Alexander long enough for Nese to land a sneak attack. Nese grounds Alexander for a bit but Alexander fights out. Alexander hits a few nice kicks then takes Gulak off of the apron with a springboard attack but Nese ends up hitting a pumphandle driver and gets the win (3:20) *1/2.

Thoughts: This all seems designed to start up a Alexander/Nese feud with Gulak accompanying Nese. Alexander lost in his hometown but I assume Alicia Fox will come out next match and accompany Alexander to even the score. Speaking of Gulak, he is a really talented wrestler but my god his ring jacket is atrocious. It looks like bad dinner theater costume and makes him come off as a complete loser as a result.

Enzo Amore & Big Cass show off some merchandise for the “Cyber Monday” sale on WWE.com

A replay from earlier tonight when Owens yelled at Jericho. We are then shown Charly Caruso backstage asking Jericho if him leaving tonight is serious. Jericho says tonight Owens said he did not need him so he no longer needs Owens. He yells at the interviewer to leave then looks sad as he wheels his luggage backstage and yells at the driver to open the door. The driver knocks the list out of his hand by accident and is then called a stupid idiot. The driver then asks Jericho if he made the list and then Seth Rollins appears. Rollins catches Jericho then beats him down until hitting him with a pedigree on a car roof. The return of Rollins was nice as he appears to be feuding with Jericho now and this can all tie back to Jericho & Owens vs. Rollins & Reigns at some point.

WWE RAW Women’s Championship: Sasha Banks vs. Charlotte (c) w/ Dana Brooke

Charlotte plays up the fact she is in her hometown then Sasha puts Charlotte in the Banks Statement. Dana pushes the ropes towards Charlotte then Sasha goes out to toss Dana into the steps. Back inside, Sasha gets two with a crossbody then mocks Charlotte. Sasha gets knocked off of the apron but fights back on the floor. Charlotte sends Sasha into the guardrail then starts roughing her up until the match ends in a countout as Charlotte retains (3:04) *1/2. However, Foley comes out and says he will not allow this rivalry to end like this as it has transcended RAW and the entire WWE so in order to not be upstaged by Smackdown at TLC, he wants the match to restart later tonight as it will be a Falls Count Anywhere match as Charlotte looks disgusted.

Thoughts: Good intensity while it lasted but just a setup to a bigger match later on in the show.

We are shown clips from last week when Rusev was pissed over a naked Enzo being in front of his wife Lana then destroyed him in a match. Enzo then tells Rusev about last week being the luckiest day in Lana’s life as she got to see the realest guy in the room in his realest form.” Enzo & Cass list off Thanksgiving foods as that ends with Enzo talking about stuffing Lana like a turkey

Rusev w/ Lana vs. Enzo Amore w/ Big Cass

Rusev murders Enzo with a clothesline then kicks him in the groin for the DQ (0:30).

Thoughts: Why would you feel sympathetic for Enzo in this situation? He deserved what he got here. The crowd was into the pre-match bit by Enzo & Cass though.

Mark Henry is being asked about working with Aaron Eckhart but Titus O’Neill interrupts to yell at Henry for stealing his role. Titus puts his hand on Henry then gets shoved down as Henry yells at him for being out of his mind. A Titus/Henry feud has the potential for some truly awful matches.

Rich Swann vs. Noam Dar

Brian Kendrick is on commentary as Cole notes he will defend the Cruiserweight Championship tomorrow night on “205 Live.” Kendrick blames everyone for his two losses to Swann. Swann hits a dropkick but Dar takes him out with a kick to the legs after Kendrick went on a rant about being fired for his “mistakes” several years ago and was almost starving as he calls Saxton a “quitter.” Dar stays in control until Swann counters a move and hits a kick to the head. Dar gets his knees up on a splash for a two count. Swann comes back with a rollup then hits a super kick for the win (3:50) *1/4. After the match, Graves gets into the ring and asks Swann about his championship match tomorrow night. Swann looks over to Kendrick and asks what he is doing out here. Swann asks if its mind games or trying to get into his head but says its really about Kendrick doubting himself and that tomorrow night his third victory will be so much sweeter because he will be coming home the Cruiserweight Champ and that Kendrick “can’t handle this” as Swann dances to his theme.

Thoughts: It didnt seem like these two guys were on the same page at all. Swann’s promo after the match left a lot to be desired. He is always coming off as someone trying way too hard based on the dancing and this promo as it seems unnatural. Its like an insanely hyperactive version of what he was doing in the Independent scene.

We see Sheamus & Cesaro at the bar. They talk about never having to team again then they start blaming each other as to why they never won the Tag Team Championship. However, they start bonding over winning at Survivor Series and beating nine other teams even though they cannot even stand each other. Both guys then start getting harassed by the other patrons and stay cool until they get up to leave and end up beating everyone up. Sheamus declares it an open bar and asks Cesaro, the only guy left standing, what he wants to drink. Cesaro asks for a pint of Guinness then cheers with Sheamus as they refer to each other as partners. Yes, the whole bit was contrived and the acting was awful but it was still cool watching these two guys kick ass here and I hope they are given a chance to become a dominant team because the potential is there.

Roman Reigns vs. Kevin Owens

Owens attacks Reigns before the bell. The referee rings the bell when Reigns gets to his feet as Owens goes back on the attack. Reigns rolls outside after getting kicked in the head as Owens follows him out. Reigns fights back until Owens sends him into the steps. Back inside, Owens gets a nearfall with a senton then we head to break. The match returns with Owens still in control. Owens mocks Reigns before hitting the cannonball but still cannot put Reigns away. Owens works a chinlock as we get a dueling chant for Reigns as the camera zooms in on the fans chanting for Reigns. Owens still has Reigns in the chinlock then hits a senton as Reigns was about to break out then reapplies the hold. Owens tries another senton but this time Reigns gets his knees up as both men are down. Reigns starts hitting corner clotheslines on Owens before booting him down. Reigns catches Owens with a Samoan Drop after a back-and-forth sequence for a two count then signals for the Superman Punch but Owens rolls outside. Reigns hits the Drive By and tosses Owens back inside but gets kneed coming through the ropes. Owens steps on Reigns and heads up top but gets cut off. Reigns ends up taking him off with a Superman Punch as Owens falls outside. Reigns hits Owens with a Superman Punch then rolls him back inside. Reigns gets cut off trying a spear then Owens bounces off of the ropes as this time Reigns hits the spear for the win (15:14) **1/2.

Thoughts: The chinlock spot was too long but the match picked up the pace towards the end. This crowd was into Reigns and a few folks in attendance noted on Twitter than Reigns received a good ovation for the win so they were at least into this even if it wasnt the greatest watching on TV.

Owens is backstage with Charly and being asked about losing tonight. Owens chastises her for coming up to him after his match and after she interviewed his best friend earlier tonight, he got attacked in the parking lot by Seth Rollins. Owens says the only reason Reigns beat him tonight is that his head was not in the match because he should have been at the medical facility with Jericho then he yells at Charly for not having water for him and then tells her to leave.

Michael Cole has a sit down interview with Paul Heyman, who is unshaven. Heyman also appears to have been crying and talks about “they” screwed up and took Goldberg too lightly. Heyman said it was about a “f***ing video game” and thought it would be the easiest payday in Brock’s career and right out of the gate, Goldberg spears Lesnar and cracks his ribs. Cole asks about Lesnar’s feeling as Heyman calls out Cole for not caring as Heyman says Lesnar is embarrassed and how this is a part of his legacy that he got beat in one minute and twenty-six seconds. Heyman then says that Lesnar now has something to prove and has not seen this side of him before and that since Goldberg is in the Royal Rumble match, Lesnar will be in the match too. Heyman then says that the Rumble match will have “twenty-eight losers, one conqueror, and one victim” and that victim is Goldberg. Heyman cut a good promo here as they set up the next chapter for Lesnar vs. Goldberg.

Emmalina will be premiering soon.

Back from break, The New Day tell us about being the longest reigning WWE Tag Team Champions of all-time in just seventeen days.

WWE Tag Team Championship Match: Xavier Woods & Big E w/ Kofi Kingston vs. Luke Gallows & Karl Anderson

Gallows & Anderson take out the New Day to start. They stay in control as we head to commercial. We return as both Gallows and Woods are down. They both tag out as Big E runs wild on Anderson. Big E takes Gallows outside with a clothesline but runs into a kick by Anderson, who covers for two. Big E then spears Anderson off of the apron. Gallows boots down Big E then nearly put away Woods with a double team move. Big E runs in to break up the Magic Killer but Gallows hits him with a tree slam. Anderson and Woods go back-and-forth until Anderson grabs the tights on a reverse rollup but Woods reverses and also grabs the tights but also gets the win (9:00) **1/2.

Thoughts: Decent match. Gallows & Anderson looked good here and were actually kept a bit strong as they lost after attempting to cheat themselves.

Bayley is backstage with Sasha and puts her over for beating Charlotte before and can do it again tonight. Sasha cuts Bayley off and talks about how the Women need a real champion and that Charlotte disrespects everyone, including her own father. Sasha then dedicates her win tonight to Ric Flair.

Falls Count Anywhere for the WWE Women’s Championship: Sasha Banks vs. Charlotte (c)

Sasha takes Charlotte outside and flies out with a tope. She gets two with a pin attempt on the floor then stays in control until they clothesline each other right before the break. We return with Charlotte working the neck in the ring. Sasha breaks out of a figure four attempt then hits a double knee smash. They fight near the ropes then on the apron where they trade chops until Charlotte boots her down. Charlotte then hits the Natural Selection on the floor off of the stairs but Sasha is able to kick out. Sasha then takes a kendo stick from underneath the ring and really lays into Charlotte to the point where an “ECW” chant breaks out. Charlotte takes the stick away then eventually hits a neckbreaker. Charlotte locks on the figure eight but Sasha breaks out by using the kendo stick. They fight up the ramp as Charlotte clears off the announcers table. Sasha attacks Charlotte from behind but still gets tossed on the table then falls off onto the floor. Charlotte gets up on the table and hits a moonsault block but Sasha is able to kick out. Charlotte covers again and Sasha kicks out as Charlotte is in disbelief. Charlotte takes Sasha ringside but Sasha fights back. Sasha gets up on the barricade and hits a meteora for a nearfall. Sasha grabs the kendo stick and lands some shots until Charlotte kicks her down. They then wander into the “WWE Universe” and go up the steps. Sasha has Charlotte between the railing and lays into her with knee smashes before putting her in the Banks Statement and gets the win (16:45) ****. After the match, Sasha celebrates in the ring when Ric Flair comes out. Flair comes in and raises Sasha’s hand then gives her a hug.

Thoughts: Excellent match. Both women gave it their all and had one hell of a grudge match. However, this has been the fifth title change in four months and they have been building up the feud more about who can win on PPV or in front of their hometown crowd rather than the actual Championship itself. And shoehorning Ric Flair, who looked like he didnt care to be out there, IMO, back into this after he had been off of TV and not mentioned for months is pointless unless he plans on sticking around. Another instance of too much focusing on “creating moments” rather than cohesive long-term storytelling. Anyway, seek this match out.

Final Thoughts: Overall, I thought the show was okay. The main event was great and they are trying to at least build up some characters. However, the top of the card is a mess and its doubtful Reigns can carry over these cheers into next week. The top two faces are not over with the crowds for the most part and the Owens title reign remains a flop. And the Cruiserweight Division is really, really struggling with another underwhelming showing tonight.

They did set up some things for Roadblock and they are building the Royal Rumble around a potential Goldberg/Lesnar confrontation while teasing a split between Owens/Jericho so there is at least some planning for the future. Hopefully they can start creating a compelling product as they start on the road to WrestleMania.

Comments are disable in preview.

Search

Recent Posts

  1. The SmarK Rant for WWF Superstars – 01.06.96 Rants
  2. Morning Daily News Update Rants
  3. Collision – October 7, 2023 Rants
  4. NWO End Game? Rants
  5. Edge’s debut Rants
Scott's Blog of Doom!
  • Email Scott
  • Follow Scott on Twitter
© 2026 Scott's Blog of Doom! Read about our privacy policy.