Skip to main content
Scott's Blog of Doom!
  • Daily Updates
  • WWE
  • WWF
  • Daily Updates
  • WWE
  • WWF
  • AEW
  • WCW
  • Observer Flashbacks
Rants

Dolph Ziggler: The Best Ever?

By Scott Keith on February 26, 2012

Well that’s a bit misleading of a title, but bear with me. So I was listening to the very entertaining Art of Wrestling podcast with Colt Cabana this week (WeLoveColt.com), and his guest was Dolph Ziggler.  Great, funny, entertaining interview, by the way.  Anyway, at the end of the show, Colt wonders if Dolph is the best guy ever produced by WWE’s developmental system, and I have to wonder if he’s not right on that one.  Yeah, John Cena and Randy Orton of course turned out well, but neither guy actually STARTED in the developmental system, they just got the majority of their training there.  Dolph was just a wrestling fan (who happened to be a champion amateur wrestler in college) who decided to try out with OVW and ended up becoming a WWE wrestler as a result.  I don’t think they’ve had that kind of success with anyone else, because almost everyone else they’re produced has come from the indy scene and just got FCW-ized or OVW-ized before coming into the main roster.  The only other possibility I can think of would be Brock Lesnar, as I’m not sure what he was doing before OVW.  Actually I guess you could say Kurt Angle too.  Anyone else I’m missing?

Comments are disable in preview.

Search

Recent Posts

  1. The SmarK Rant for WWF Superstars – 01.06.96 Rants
  2. Morning Daily News Update Rants
  3. Collision – October 7, 2023 Rants
  4. NWO End Game? Rants
  5. Edge’s debut Rants
Scott's Blog of Doom!
  • Email Scott
  • Follow Scott on Twitter
© 2026 Scott's Blog of Doom! Read about our privacy policy.