Skip to main content
Scott's Blog of Doom!
  • Daily Updates
  • WWE
  • WWF
  • Daily Updates
  • WWE
  • WWF
  • AEW
  • WCW
  • Observer Flashbacks
Rants

UFC As Sports Entertainment

By Scott Keith on November 16, 2011

What are your thoughts on this? http://mobile.cagesideseats.com/2011/11/15/2564791/ufc-admits-theyre-sports-entertainment-to-get-legalised-in-new-york

Holy shit, I forgot about that Vince McMahon oily muscle pose.  That’s gonna haunt my nightmares now. As for the actual article, Dana White has never been shy about admitting the stuff he swiped from wrestling, and reasonable fans outside of the hardcore MMA nerds are fine with it.  Whether it’s classed as “sports” or “entertainment” is a matter of semantics for the IRS to care about.  If that’s what it takes to get UFC into MSG, call it theater and nominate it for a Tony for all I care.  Like, does anyone really care about calling wrestling “sports entertainment” who isn’t employed by WWE?  It’s just a vague, meaningless term for the beancounters.

Comments are disable in preview.

Search

Recent Posts

  1. The SmarK Rant for WWF Superstars – 01.06.96 Rants
  2. Morning Daily News Update Rants
  3. Collision – October 7, 2023 Rants
  4. NWO End Game? Rants
  5. Edge’s debut Rants
Scott's Blog of Doom!
  • Email Scott
  • Follow Scott on Twitter
© 2026 Scott's Blog of Doom! Read about our privacy policy.